Habitats - Oil Spill Contingency Planning (OSCP)

What is it: 

The habitats section of ‘Oil spill response and planning’ (OSCP) shows 6 layers, split into two types:

1 . Shoreline type (OSCP) – zoom restricted to about 1:50,000 - where the Scottish coastline has been classified into five categories using the IPIECA-IMO-OGP report (2012) (data from BP/RS Environmental Limited, Ordnance Survey, Defra / BGS (MAGIC)).

  • Rock and man-made (ESI 1 & 2)
  • Sand, gravel and rock armour (ESI 3, 4, 5 & 6)
  • Exposed tidal flats (ESI 7)
  • Sheltered rock, man-made or rip rap (rock armour) (ESI 8)
  • Sheltered tidal flats or salt marshes (ESI 9 & 10)

2. National and International Protected Area designations (OSCP) which show five layers (WMS layers are up to date at time of access):

  • Nature Conservation Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) (SNH WMS) (OSCP)
  • Special Areas of Conservation (SACs) contributing to the MPA network (SNH WMS) (OSCP)
  • Special Protection Areas (SPAs) contributing to the MPA network (SNH WMS) (OSCP)
  • Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSIs) contributing to the MPA network (SNH WMS) (OSCP)
  • RAMSAR sites (OSCP)
This information page is part of the theme: 
Shoreline type © various - see Data Originators