Chapter 5: Productive

Local Coastal Partnerships (LCP)

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

The Scottish Coastal Forum was formed in 1996 to encourage debate at national level on coastal issues. Its members advise Marine Scotland, from an operational perspective, on the development of policy relating to marine planning and licensing within a sustainable marine environment. The Forum also provides a network for circulating information and best practice in coastal management amongst its own varied membership and the wider Integrated Coastal Zone Management (ICZM) community.
Scotland has 7 Local Coastal Partnerships -
• Coast Hebrides
• East Grampian Partnership
• Firth of Clyde Forum
• Forth Estuary Forum
• Moray Firth Partnership
• Solway Firth Partnership
• Tay Estuary Forum

Regional Inshore Fishery Groups Areas (rIFGs) - April 2016 (hidden when zoomed in past 1:50,000)

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

Regional Inshore Fisheries Groups (RIFGs) are bodies that aim to improve the management of Scotland's inshore fisheries (out to six nautical miles) and to give commercial inshore fishermen a strong voice in wider marine management developments. Originally six pilot IFGs were established in 2009 (covering the Outer Hebrides, the Clyde, the south east of Scotland, the north west, small isles and Mull, and Moray Firth) and each developed an inshore fisheries management plan for its area. This was followed in 2013 by six Inshore Fisheries Groups (IFGs) covering all of the Scottish coast (except Shetland which has its own management arrangements). The West Coast and North & East Coast RIFGs were established in April 2016 and replace the four IFGs that formerly covered the Scottish mainland coast. This layer shows the RIFG network, which includes the West Coast, North & East Coast and Outer Hebrides RIFGs, along with the Orkney Management Group and Shetland Shellfish Management Organisation.

Location and type of waste water treatment plants (2012)

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

Waste water treatment is designed to process waste water whilst protecting the environment and maintaining public health. Outfalls to the marine environment fall into three categories:

  1. outfalls from waste water treatment (WWT) plants which process waste water from the mains sewerage system  (this layer);
  2. industrial sites which take waste from manufacturing plants (see separate layer - Industrial (SPRI) marine discharges); and
  3. some private domestic sources (not on NMPi).

These categories of outfall also discharge to the riverine freshwater environment which eventually reach the sea.


Subscribe to RSS - Chapter 5: Productive