Water Framework Directive (WFD) Waterbody Classification 2007-2017 (SEPA)

This map layer has been supplied directly by Marine Scotland National Marine Plan interactive. You can obtain additional information about the layer on this page

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

The Water Framework Directive (WFD) (2000/60/EC) established a new legal framework for the protection, improvement and sustainable use of rivers, lochs, transitional waters, coastal waters and groundwater across Europe in order to:
•prevent deterioration and enhance the status of aquatic ecosystems, including coastal waters (out to 3 nautical miles from the coast in Scotland)
•promote sustainable water use
•reduce pollution, and
•contribute to the mitigation of floods and droughts.

Scotland has 457 coastal water bodies and 50 transitional water bodies. Waters are classfied into High, Good, Moderate, Poor and Bad Status. All water bodies should have reached good status by 2015. This layer contains SEPA assessment data for water body classification from 2007 onwards and is configured to work with NMPi's time-aware functionality.

GIS Data Type: 
Web Service Information: 
Base WMS Address: http://msmap1.atkinsgeospatial.com/geoserver/ows/nmp?
Layer name:
Does this layer display time aware features: 
Usage limitations: 
You must acknowledge the source of the Data by including the following statement: "Contains SEPA data © Scottish Environment Protection Agency and database right [year*]. All rights reserved".