Local authority boundaries - Councils (Improvement Service WMS)

This map layer is a Web Map Service provided by a third party. Data is automatically updated and made available by the data owners, but can be viewed in the NMPi portal. For detailed information about layers supplied by third parties, we recommend contacting the data owner directly

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

Local government in Scotland comprises 32 unitary local authorities, which are responsible for the provision of a range of public services such as education, licensing regulations, social care, transport and waste management. The current authority boundaries are largely a result of reorganization that took place in 1996, following the enactment of the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994 which abolished the two tier structure of regions and districts. The Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland is responsible for recommendations on the definition of local authority boundaries, however, the definitive dataset is delineated by Ordnance Survey for inclusion in their BoundaryLine product.

GIS Data Type: 
Web Service Information: 
Base WMS Address: https://geo.spatialhub.scot/geoserver/sh_las/wms?authkey=b85aa063-d598-4582-8e45-e7e6048718fc
Layer name:pub_las
Does this layer display time aware features: 
Usage limitations: 
The following attribution statement must be used to acknowledge the source of the information: Contains Ordnance Survey data © Crown copyright and database right (insert year)

This Map source is referenced by the following pages: